Covered in Bees

By PaulFS

Lily

We were going to walk down to the Denso Marston Nature Reserve before it got dark and I was hoping for some inspirational blipping.

On the way we bumped into some friends who I haven't seen for years. When I was a kid living in a house by the then abandoned RAF base at Upwood in the Fens, Chris and Barbara were friends of my Mum and Dad, and we were best friends with their youngest daughter Joanne (or bogface as we unfairly called her then...)

Fantastic childhood - didn't appreciate it at the time but we had old air raid shelters to play in, a runway, a firing range with green rusted bullets. Like something out of Enid Blyton where the villains were just imaginary. (And Top Deck or Soda Stream instead of Ginger Beer.)

Long story short; we moved away, Chris and Barbara and Joanne moved nearby some time later, then away, then back, and I moved away. Sadly Joanne died from cancer when she was just 21. Anyway I hadn't seen them for years so it was really good to catch up with them.

By the time we'd caught up it was getting dark so we put off the Nature Reserve and went for a short walk round the block.

I couldn't find anything to blip that reflected my day but I spotted that this lily appeared to be shedding a tear so I blipped it and took the opportunity to have a bit of a play.

If I'm honest I'm not entirely happy with it (and I'm not saying that to get sympathetic feedback) but it's OK and I know it's a benchmark for improvement!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.