The Journey

Once in a great while, I indulge myself in a moment of wondering why I'm trying to continue to do, every day, all the things that matter to me. I know how I chose my priorities and I re-examine them all the time, but I still wonder sometimes, would anything change at all in the world if I just stopped and got more sleep and read more books and walked on more beaches?

Right about that time, the phone rings or I remember something that won't happen tomorrow if I don't do my part today. Then I remember an act that used to be on the Ed Sullivan Show or one of those shows from the 70's where an expert plate spinner would get a plate spinning atop a tall stick, then another and another, then he'd rush back to the first to give it an extra spin and back and forth he'd go, keeping about 7 or 8 or more plates spinning at the same time. One would start to wobble and I'd hold my breath until he got it spinning again. He never seemed stressed, in fact, the secret to his success seemed to be his calm, his focus and his confidence that it could be done.

I think about that plate spinner on many a day. Just give it a little spin, then move on to the next thing, give it a spin and move on. No big deal. Just do the little bit today that needs to be done on each thing, then rest.

One of the plates I'm spinning tonight is to prepare a song list for our worship band for tomorrow night's practice. The second verse of one of the songs reads, "From the rising to the setting sun, His love endures forever. By the grace of God we will carry on, His love endures forever. Sing praise, sing praise..."

Then I stop thinking about it and I'm just grateful that I have the privilege of doing it another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.