A Fleeting Moment

By AFleetingMoment

Nostalgia

This is a photo from the beginning of my time in the Lower Sixth. It was a good time in my life, I was on the verge of becoming an adult, looking towards A-Levels and then University.

It was also a time when I became better friends with people who I hadn't really hang out with at school. These people had been, from my perspective, in the background at school. It was also a time when I loved hanging out with my friends from Canvey. Going out to pubs and clubs, feeling like the world was our oyster. Plus the meeting of new people who had entered the Sixth Form.

It was also a time when the world was woken up with a bang. News of the Twin Towers shocked the world into silence. I can remember where I was exactly when I first heard it. I was sitting in Economics, when another teacher walked in and informed our Economics teacher that a plane had crashed into the first tower.

So many memories come flooding back when I look at this photo. Just like the memories that I get when I look around my room and see the presents that I got from A, her tea cup I bought her for Valentine's Day, or the card she wrote me when we celebrated our 6th month together.

I've been feeling nostalgic the past few days, and it's reminding me of all the things I had with A, all the things I was going to have with A and all the things I lost when I lost A. I keep going back to different parts of our relationship and wonder whether I should've done things differently.

Unfortunately, we can't change the past, but we can learn from it, and from A, I learnt so much. She will always have a special place in my heart.

The heart that truly loves never forgets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.