A Fleeting Moment

By AFleetingMoment

Boys and their toys

Early start today, picking SJP up at 8:30 am as we headed off to Birmingham for the Playstation Access tour. I'd won 2 tickets for the event which enable us to spend 4 hours playing some future title games like Resistance 3, Fifa 12 and a few others.

It was a long drive, just over 2 1/2 hours, but after the aches, we walked in and just had some fun. Fifa 12 was one of the most popular games there and me and SJP wanted to battle it out in our classic Arsenal vs Man Utd games that we regularly play. Unfortunately, Man Utd wasn't available in this demo version so I choose Barcelona and (be-grudgingly) Man City. I don't want to relieve that moment, so we'll just leave that subject for now.

After exhausting all of the games several times we left with our little goodie bag, which contained this key ring of a Sackboy, from Little Big Planet, dressed as a Chimera from Resistance, and a Resistance 3 t-shirt. Then it was a quick re-fuel of McDonald's and off to Highbury to say a final farewell to my oldest friend (oldest as in longest, not that he's 60 or something).

I've know P since we were 10 years old. He's always been a good friend and has one of the craziest sense of humour I've ever know. Always able to make me laugh at any situation and a bit of a word smith too! It's thanks to him that I met many of my other friends, and it'll sad to see him go.

Before leaving for uni, we'd always hangout, whether it be round each other's houses listening to music and chatting, playing computer games, or out dancing and drinking in some bar or club. After uni, we didn't get to see much of each other, he moved to London and I stayed in Essex, and whilst we weren't that far apart, it's just circumstance that stopped us, though when we did meet up, fun was always had.

But now, he's off to back pack around Europe, or where every he decides he wants to be. And with that, I wish him all the luck in the world and hope that he enjoys himself. I'll miss those crazy nights of randomness that we used to have, but know that there'll be plenty of time for more of those in the future.

Don't be dismayed at goodbyes. A farewell is necessary before you can meet again. And meeting again, after moments or lifetime, is certain for those who are friends.

Richard Bach

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.