Candle of Darkness

Candle of Darkness


When I look into your eyes
I see a candle
Burning away at your soul
That was once pure

I hardly know you now
You shut yourself away
When I do get a chance
To talk to you

You look straight through me
I still see a candle
Burning away in your eyes
The glimmer of hope has gone

Just tell me what's up
Instead of locking your feelings away
I know what you're going through
So please try and listen

I know a candle
Will incessantly burn
Away your soul
Don't let that cloud your thoughts

What was said to my daughter
She completely ignored
I found here lifeless
On her bedroom floor
A candle in her eyes
Had been extinguished

Yet a candle was still burning
On her bedside table
Burning pure blackness
That was the first time I'd seen

...The candle of darkness

(J M. Basey)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.