Scintilla

By scintilla

North American AT-6D "Texan"

I'm a bit of an aviation buff, so I made the trip into Anchorage today to check out the Alaska Aviation Trade Show at the FedEx hangar at Ted Stevens Airport. There were a lot of booths there of interest to aircraft owners (which I'm not). At one innocuous booth there was to my surprise Dick Rutan who is an aviation legend. In 1986, he and Jeana Yeager flew non-stop without refueling around the world in 9 days 3 minutes, and 44 seconds. It so happens, I visited Edwards AFB with my brother in law to see his brother at that time and I witnessed Dick Rutan's takoff in "Voyager". He used up a huge chunk of that 15,000 foot runway to get that aircraft off the ground. So for me, it was neat meeting him. He's a colorful guy with a colorful vocabulary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.