From Rátheanaigh - Will travel.

It's an interesting journey that this travel book has made from a branch of Dublin's Public Library at Raheny to a distributor of books in Dunfermline, who comes under the aegis of Play.com.

It wasn't until I prised off the lendings label that I noticed that all was legal, it having been withdrawn from circulation in June.

It is further co incidental that this book moved out of Raheny, at the same time as did raheny_eye. I wonder if he has ever touched these pages that I now turn.
Perhaps he was the person who had until 15th June this year to return it so that it could make its way to Scotland, and furthermore, perhaps it was he who brought it over.
Who knows, but it has provided me with a blip and a blog for today.
Now all I've got to do is read it and hope it's not so out of date as to be useless.

After a bit of 'what shall we do today, since it's another damp offering of a morning', we decided on a walk along to the canal and my showing his Lordship a good time at Loudon's coffee shop and restaurant in Foutainbridge.
Although I have noticed this fairly new glass fronted eatery from the car and bike, it wasn't until marchmont mentioned it in a blip that the idea came of trying it for size.

Indeed it is a rather nice open, light space and if you can forget it used to be St Cuthbert's Funeral Parlour ( I think) then it's ideal for a sit down on a comfy chair rather than a lie down in a confined wooden box.

After a coffee and a read of a Guardian newspaper which someone kindly left behind, being the sort of establishment that apparently liberal Guardian readers frequent, we chuntered home by the back roads of Tollcross in the now muggy heat of a day which has definitely improved in more ways than one.

You may want to know what the cover illustration of some one swimming has to do with a landlocked country. If I find out, you can be sure you will be the first to know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.