A Final Goodbye to the Castle

Finally........
Bicycles removed, photographs of empty rooms taken, photographs of the garden taken, blip taken, keys handed over and the money at the lawyer's.

This same money will unfortunately not reach our bank account until Thursday which still means another nice interest sum for the bankers.

But we have no complaints really. The weather has been so kind to us with all the to-ing and fro-ing with boxes and bags. Not a drop of rain has sullied our goods and the hand over has gone without a hitch.

The only negative thing that has happened was the eventual appearance of the BT man yesterday.

I use the term 'man' with a certain degree of looseness. He was young with long curly hair and not willing to spend time with a couple of pensioners in a very technically wired flat.
His job was only to connect the BT line.
Any help or time to explain how the internet connection could be turned on as well as the land line was not his remit.
It was a customer self assembly job he said, and given that the house set up is not the simple one of the castle, this was providing me ( the more technical of the duo here!) with not a little angst.
I seemed so slow to him to assimilate what he was trying to tell me, that he eventually said I was like his mother, which I gathered from his tone, meant not that bright.
Since I didn't know how to get both telephone and internet, I made him connect my router so that I could get online but not have a land line.
We will enlist the services of our electronic guru who is coming shortly about another technical problem. Where is Cairo boy when you need him?

Anyway I'm glad everything is finalised at last and I can grieve properly for the castle, while at the same time loving the newness of the Dower House and looking forward to the future

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.