Off Centre

By RachelCarter

An Actual Gleam!

For posterity, I wanted it noted that for a nano-second, on Saturday 3rd September 2011, my kitchen was clean. :)

(I'm not intending to take photos of my kitchen regularly, by the way!)

And, yes, I do believe there is evidence of it actually gleaming.

I was expecting a visit from my mother today, and although she wouldn't want me to tidy on her behalf and understands all too well the futile struggle to keep a house tidy when lived in by five people and a dog - especially in the summer holidays... she does worry about germs. So I always try to have the washing up done, the loo clean and the sink clean when she's coming.

She phoned in the end to say she couldn't make it due to a headache but at least I have a tidy-ish house (downstairs at least) if only very briefly.

Missing from the picture is a wet dog that smells like a... wet dog, the constant pitter patter of rain and a jolly old belting of Handel's The Arrival of the Queen of Sheba from my iPod to remind me I am not just a skivvy but a cultured skivvy.

And yes, there is a photo of the loo, and even a hall with no shoes all over the floor, if you're interested ;)

Could my life get any more thrilling?
Surely not...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.