shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Walking

Spent a lovely day on the Empower Walk, raising money for The Leprosy Mission Nigeria's Chanchaga Orthopaedic Workshop, which provides orthotic devices, prostheses and wheelchairs to people disabled as a result of leprosy and other illnesses/injuries near Minna. Apart from a bit of rain it was a lovely day, my feet only hurt a little and Teddy Mac is now on £223, not including Gift Aid, with GA I think on a rough calculation he's on about £260 which for an inanimate object is pretty impressive. It sadly pales into insignificance against one father and daughter whose online sponsorship income including Gift Aid currently stands at £1966.25. They are aiming for £2000, so given they will have some offline sponsors too, I think they've done it! We've told them that next year they need to double it! I should say that both parents used to work for The Leprosy Mission in Nepal, so have a wide network of folk to appeal to, particularly over the internet. What did we do before online sponsorship pages?

I took this picture at lunchtime in Dalgety Bay, when we sat on the rocks and the grass and rested our feet. I could have posted a variety of shots, boht of the walk, of the teddy, or even the interesting street musicians on Buchanan Street as I arrived back in Glasgow, but for some reason this is the one that stood out to me. That may change tomorrow, but the blip is up! It really was a lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.