horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Go Forth and?

Mel preferred reflective swallow; while I almost went with a first sighting of a flying Little Grebe.

It has felt like a strangely tense and stressful weekend. Not that I'm looking forward to getting back to work tomorrow, but hey ho. Morning was a nice sunny hang-around at the mouth of the river in Musselburgh with my brother in the early hours, from which point these swans were seen, before coming in to land.

After seeing off mother and brother back north Mel had a lie-down to sleep off the alcoholic exertions of the night before at Kismot (I'd been designated driver, lassi taking the tasty place of wine) and I headed to the Figgy to be entertained by the grebes. And then it was off to the Mela...

This will be a controversial moment given it's been involved with competition-winnings on this site, but we found it distinctly underwhelming. And so it was a brief visit, before heading off to a Leith hostelry for a late lunch instead (bumping into a friend James en route which was a nice detour). Now back and about to head out and brave Asda. Time for some comfort food, and I happen to know my cherry brownies work well with gluten-free flour, so I can indulge without annoyance (unlike last night where I stared covetously at the naan bread and my brother's beer...).

Time to start the holiday countdown, given it's just 2 weeks away...

p.s. a year ago today I did my first ever wedding photoshoot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.