RustyKlicker

By RustyKlicker

Maxwell's Temple

It was our wedding anniversary this week, and we had a couple of days away at Kenmore, on Loch Tay.

Now this is a historic location not just for me, but in Scotlands history too. The family on my mother's side have holidayed here since we were kids but I haven't been up there myself in a long long time, It is also home to the Kenmore Hotel, Scotlands Oldest Inn, dating back to 1572, and this is where we stayed. The chimney breast in the 'Poets Bar' even has a hand written poem scribbled on the wall, by Robert Burns when he visited during his younger days.

So I thought it would be nice to visit this ancestral holiday location and also perhaps start a series of photographic trips down memory lane.

The image itself is of a monument known as Maxwell's Temple. It is a lovely stone structure that you will find in the trees above the river Tay, not too far to the East of the Kenmore Bridge. It was erected as a tribute to Mary Countess of Breadalbane for anyone who cares or may know about such things. I myself am not too bothered, to me it is a building I remember vividly as a child and that is why I wanted to revisit it specifically.

I probably haven't visited this spot for nearly 40 years but it is of course exactly as I remember it, except it seemed smaller now and a little bit crowded by trees. Then Mrs K pointed out that when I last saw it, I was at primary school and the now huge trees were probably saplings.

Anyway, it's now number one in what I hope can be a series of trips and pictures to places of my youth.

Hope you have all had a good weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.