8:30

By eightthirty

ready for the big bang

8:30, at work, but this time for an employee event other than doing work.

Mrs theWeir and I are out, just the two of us (and the rest of the attendees) for an evening of food and fireworks at the Standard Life headquarters building near the centre of Edinburgh.

This picture is not where the fireworks are going to go off, but as they won't start for 35 minutes yet, this is about as exciting as it gets.

I've had the privilege of attending a few of these kind of occasions over my 12 years in the business, but tonight feels a little different. Hard to explain why. Not sure I can.

On the drive in, I was thinking that 12 years ago, when I started, I'd never have thought I was going to be still part of the company - even having made so many great friendships - all these years later.

I'm sure I'm not the first to ponder that.

====

I only had my iPhone with me, so what photos I was able to take are on Flickr here..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.