Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Jenifer

This blip represents one of the passions in my life. Let me introduce you to Jenifer. We have been together for fourteen years, which is longer than I managed with any of my wives. Not the most stunning of beauties, but she has a character all of her own. She is fairly low maintenance, requiring servicing four times per year. She is a straight shooter, on a good day she brings me great happiness and occasionally wealth.

These days, I play mostly 9 ball, 8 ball and some straight pool on full size (9ft) American style tables. I started playing snooker as a nine year old and regressed to English pub pool as I approached the appropriate age. English pool, a tedious game played with marbles on a tiny table. When I moved to Indonesia, I was introduced to the REAL game and became totally absorbed, playing six hours, sometimes upto eleven hours a day, but would be laid up with a bad shoulder for a few days.

One of the things that I love about Bandung, is that there are over a thousand tables in more than fifty billiard halls within the city. I doubt you would find a hundred American tables in the whole of Merseyside. The skill level here makes me look very average, compared to English pubs, were I would be difficult to beat. The atmosphere is friendly camaraderie, no drunks and no fighting, despite a lot of money changing hands. I walk into my regular hall and everyone welcomes me with hand shakes and smiling faces, probably because I am the only foreigner in this very Indonesian domain. They respect my dedication to the game they love.

My dedication to billiards has been my downfall on many occasions. Stuck at a table in the middle of a winning streak at 02:00am and having to be at the office at 07:00am. The divorce papers signaling the demise of my first marriage, named not the other woman, but every member of the pool team that I played for. I am not particularly proud of that fact, but at least I was not an adulterer, but that counted for nothing.

I can sense many of you muttering, ?Huh! No wonder he lives alone, MSP?. That is OK, I am not going for Mr. Popularity, just trying to get some enjoyment out of my life.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.