Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

the Kite Pilot

I was hoping for some scenic views over the city this morning. Unfortunately the pollution was causing a lot of haze. This is a big problem around the city, making any shots that involve the horizon impossible. With such a large population, the vast majority of which rides around on small motor bikes and no emission controls, pollution is a major problem for Bandung. I?ll have to wait for the dry season to finish and hopefully the rains will clean up the air some.

However, the light breeze did make for a good kite flying day. At any time, you could see upto twenty kites in the sky at once. The kites themselves do not make a very good subject, but I found this young rascal, dancing around, working his kite. I sat down on the ground and started shooting. After a few minutes, he stopped worrying about the camera as the intense concentration required to keep the kite aloft consumed him. I had a lengthy conversation with his father beforehand, who spoke excellent English, to make sure he was cool with the shoot.

Kite flying is a big part of Indonesian culture, keeping both young and old entertained. I could never imagine a group of teenagers back home, playing with kites. Phone and power lines are carried above ground around the city and are a coated with a tangled mess of ex-kites. I am sure I will be blipping more kite shots in the future.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.