Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Damsel

I did two sessions today, a short early session to try for the ant and mosquitoes. That didn't work out, with 150 shots in the bin. I then had to pay the final leky bill on the old house to stop the landlord whinging. While I was out and about, I popped into the telcom place and got the ball rolling for an internet connection. A couple of days to wait for that.

The second session felt weak, but that is because I spent an hour standing under a bloom, waiting for the blue carpenter bee to show up. I picked up more shots of the black carpenter, but the blue was a no show. I have been after this blue carpenter for about two months, ever since I first saw it. I have a couple of shots, but too far away for a decent blip. Keep trying.

I then spent half an hour sat by the edge of the rice paddy, hoping for some dragon laying action, but that didn't happen. Picked up a decent shot of two dueling male red dragons, but too similar to a shot I did last month.

So, all my planned blips fell apart, but I had forgotten about some of the other images that I had captured in the meantime, like a white moth, two types of mantis, a large jumping spider, a dragon and this damsel, so the session was not as bad as I thought.

It is actually a side view of the damsel that I blipped last month. Quite unusual, big and stocky, although there are bigger damsels around, yet to be blipped. What is strange is that the wings are longer than the body. I was well pleased with the damsel so I cancelled the emergency kitty blip!

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.