Mount Shuksan

I was feeling a bit wistful since it is a holiday weekend and all our family members had plans elsewhere. I thought about my "ersatz" brother Chris and his wife Jyl but they live in Seattle and I didn't feel like driving down there. So Arvin and I decided to go up the mountain for the day. Then the phone rang. It was Chris and Jyl. They were thinking of us at the same time I was thinking of them. They asked if they could come up. We said, "yes, of course." And up they came.

When they got here we all went up to the mountain. It takes about an hour to get to the Mount Baker Ski Area. The road to Artist's Point is closed but we still were able to get to Picture Lake for a view of Mount Shuksan. We drove up, took some short walks, and headed back down to Glacier for dinner at Milano's. We had a great day. Now Chris and Jyl are sleeping in our guest room. Tomorrow we'll have another day together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.