Mixed Emotions

We were all up early to support Zebedee on his big day - his first day of Secondary School! Naturally Zebedee was quite nervous but also looking forward to it, we drove there and I walked him round, the school is having a rebuild which amused Zebedee!
The 'children' look enormous!!!!!! Anyway we found the other boys from his old school and Zebedee was the only one with a Blazer, they started comparing phones, then I went to chat to the head of his college about getting him a locker etc and when I looked round to take his heavy sports bag home for him having found out they don't have cloakrooms and that he doesn't need it today - he was gone!
Luckily I was wearing sunglasses to hide my tears.

I went to the same school from age 5-13 so the Secondary transition wasn't a big deal, it just meant you didn't have to wear a tunic buttoned onto your skirt anymore, at 13 I left my small private girl's school and went to a massive mixed comprehensive in Crowborough and lived with my Dad for a few months while my Mum moved house, what a shock that was and then on to a new girl's Comprehensive in Brighton the year the grammar and the local rough state school were joined, that was an eye opener!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.