Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Eye on Me

"I once had a sparrow alight upon my shoulder for a moment, while I was hoeing in a village garden, and I felt that I was more distinguished by that circumstance than I should have been by any epaulet I could have worn."

- Henry David Thoreau


Yes, it's Yet Another Rainbow Lorikeet (TM) today.

I headed down to the emergency department early on this morning - no birdies in the trees on the way. When I finally managed to head back, I heard some chirping, so stopped to have a look. I couldn't get a good view from the path, but decided to head around to the bottom of the shrubs and have another look. There, my little friend was most obliging - leading me to feel rather like Thoreau describes. I could swear it was posing for me, with all its colours on display, but in the end I've chosen this picture, as I love the look on the lorikeet's face, with the little beady red eye looking right at me.

Lumix DMC-G10 : f/5.60 : 1/80" : 42mm : ISO 125

Large version here.

Uploaded with Blipfoto iPhone app

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.