Dance class

My second Monday with students meant my second week with this year's dance class. We'd arranged for the make up students to do their makeup today so we could get a portrait shoot done meaning they would have loads of images to work with. It won't by any means be our last shoot as there will be more portraits and loads of action shots to be done through the year, but it gives us a start.

The weather was nice enough to do the shoot outside too and it marked a first for me. The direct sunlight was a bit bright so we moved to an area with shade where I set up two speedlights to light it all. The main one had the beauty dish from my portrait kit on it pointing down towards the models at about 45 degrees on. The second light had the globe diffuser on it ad was about a stop to a stop and a half darker than the main one just to fill the shadows a bit. The result was fairly even light with some nice shadow detail and I was pretty pleased with it for a first experiment.

Most of the class were pretty pleased with their first attempt although you always get a few who aren't keen on their shots at first, but their classmates generally convince them that they look great. As an added bonus when I explained about blip there was only one of them who really didn't want their shots used.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.