Moving Flock

Kiwilizze and I got home to Murchison tonight just in time to have dinner with Pcc and Dups who are stopping here for the night on their way to Golden Bay. My first meeting with any blippers that I didn't know before I started blipping. A lovely evening, Dups and Pcc, thanks for sharing it.

Since the daffodils have been blooming I have constantly had Wordsworth's poem running through my head. I'm not sure if this is 'normal' or if it's an English teacher thing. Anyway, when I stopped to capture this rapidly moving flock of sheep it brought Wordsworth to mind again - but when I went to find a copy of his "Flock" I realised that was not the poem I was thinking of. The one I was trying to remember is a contemporary one by Billy Collins:

FLOCK
It has been calculated that
each copy of the Gutenburg Bible
required the skins of 300 sheep.

I can see them
squeezed into the holding pen
behind the stone building
where the printing press is housed.

All of them squirming around
to find a little room
and looking so much alike
it would be nearly impossible to count them.

And there is no telling which one of them
will carry the news
that the Lord is a Shepherd,
one of the few things
they already know.

- billy collins

Billy Collins was U.S. Poet Laureate from 2001 through 2003.

Maybe there are 300 sheep here...


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.