Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Camping in Pasadena III

Day 3 in Pasadena, camping in the garden. I got to bed reasonably early with the boys, wedged in between the blow up mattress and the side of the tent whilst the boys splayed out next to me pushing me still further into the crevasse. And last night, the first rain since April sent us ducking for cover into the house and saving the big birthday cake.

And the afternoon we spent lounging in the huge paddling pool. Reuben's in his element in water spending several hours bobbing around in the ring.

What an absolutely glorious day with our long-time Brit friends in LA celebrating Angie's 40th.

Not wanting the fun to end, I took the boys to Marina del Rey on the way home and breathed in the remarkably cooler ocean air than what we'd experienced in beautiful Pasadena. It was the last day of the $1 water bus for the summer and we relished the cool breeze through our hair before stopping at the Cheesecake Factory for nachos, wishing we'd done the trip many more times this summer. Passing our former home in the Marina on Bora Bora, I wistfully remembered the days I'd walked Reuben round in his stroller up and down the quays of this gigantum marina, living on the same waterside path as I had 17 years before. Many memories. Fantastically perfect weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.