shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Falkirk Stadium

I was on a training course today held at Falkirk Stadium - much better than one a few years ago at Hampden when you were in a concrete box, and could have been anywhere, at least here you could see the pitch, with the beautiful view of Grangemouth Oil Refinery in behind, which is the reason for the lack of a fourth stand, so I was informed. Apparently when they bought the land they were told there would be no problem in building a stadium, but the council's planning department then denied them permission for the stand closest to the refinery, those 20 or so metres will make all the difference if it blows up, never mind all the people allowed to live a few hundred metres from the refinery gates!

I also learned a valuable lesson, which I feel I should share for the public benefit - do not trust Google maps travel directions for public transport. Never mind the incredibly circuitous route it gave me to get to the bus stop by means of Shank's pony (which could have simply been go to the end of the car park, go down the hill, turn left), and to be fair it did put me on the correct bus - but unfortunately going the wrong way! So I had a nice wee trip out to see the Falkirk Wheel, certainly not the most direct route between Falkirk High Station and Falkirk stadium. At least now I know how to get there for a future jaunt with my camera!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.