LightWave

By LightWave

Last Day of Summer

Officially, anyway. Or maybe it's tomorrow. Anyway, gorgeous, gorgeous day, we've had a lovely summer and today was perfect.

Three day weekend, so I took myself off to Crane Beach, about an hour north of Boston, using public transport (train and bus) - remarkably cheap and efficient, I was very impressed. Crane Beach is beautiful, there's 5 miles of it and it's so easy to walk away from all the people. Anyone reading this, if you find yourself in this part of the world, you should go.

Just about the first thing I saw as as I walked south towards the sand bar was a pair of black skimmers skimming. This is a first bird for me, so I was pretty pleased. Never saw them again though. I then turned and walked towards the castle, stopping for lunch on the rocks. I watched the sailboats come and go. I watched a cormorant fishing. I watched the fishing boats out on the sandbar. I watched a couple of kayakers and some strong swimmers heading north. I walked all the way to the north tip of the beach.

Meanwhile, the sun had changed direction and the tide had come in. Instead of the gentle little waves of the morning, big surf was pounding the beach and all the people were compressed into a tiny coloured line.

I had lots of fun shooting the big waves (a bit like yesterday) but when 5.30 came around, I was ready to jump on the bus and go home. 7 hours on the beach, somehow taken up in wandering around.

And I sunburned my feet! How stupid was that?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.