a day in the life of Jack

By jacksmom726

Is that sun?

Another morning lying in bed listening to the rain. It seems like it's been raining so much lately, the ground is saturated, the roads are flooded and the rivers are at dangerous levels, threatening businesses and homes nearby.

Thankfully the rain did decide to stop and the sun came out, if only for an hour. It is now cloudy again.

We had Jacks 5 year physical today. He was a bit nervous about getting his shots, but the only thing the doctor did was test his iron levels, which were great, and gave him the flu mist in his nose.

The doctor is getting worried, and now I am too, about Jacks weight. He has always been small, but I never thought too much of it because my husband is slender and not very tall, and at one time I was slender too. Last year, his weight slipped off the 'percentile chart' and this year, it dropped even more. He weighs only 30 lbs. at 5 years old. If he had kept the same percentile this year, even if on the low end, she wouldn't be worried, but he is losing ground.

I have to weigh him often now, keep a chart, and call in to the doctor in a few months. If he is still not gaining, they will run tests on him to see if there is a medical condition causing him not to gain weight.

She told me to give high fat, hight calorie foods....load up things with butter, peanut butter, whole milk, etc. as well as adding 'Instant Breakfast Powder' to milk and/or giving him Pediasure.

Some days he has a huge appetite, he will eat and eat and eat. Other days, he picks at his food and doesn't eat too much. It isn't that he is picky, he will eat pretty much anything.

Now, I am worried and did the worst thing I could do, which was look it up on the internet. I am now being bombarded with horrible medical conditions and my mind is spinning. Mark told me not to worry, that he has no doubt he is fine.

Anyone else have any issues like this with their children?? Here in the US, obesity in children is more of the norm, so you don't see much info on how to gain weight.

Anyway, I am stepping away from the computer for a while...I have to run to the store before Jack gets home from school! Have a great day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.