Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

Love, love...

... freebies!

[finished version on my [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1392743]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

I saw my kids playing with these freebies I picked up at a conference today and just thought it might make a nice shot. To get that bokeh background, I used a wide aperture of f/2.8 which gives that really shallow depth of field, i.e. the bit towards the front is in focus and the background is blurred.

Not a great deal of editing. Used a few different layers to pop the colours a bit - for example, a hue/saturation adjustment layer with the saturation boosted by +15 and a pale yellow colour fill layer set to 20% opacity and multiply blend mode to give it that golden feel... that kinda thing. Really wanted a slightly vintage feel to it as it suited the kitch hearts! If you're interested, I didn't clone out the brand name which was stamped on these hearts for a reason - I rather like that it's naff! And stays naff. Sometimes 'perfect' isn't what you really want.

After that, sharpened, flattened and saved.

Tip of the Day:

There are loads of different ways of getting a vintage effect in Photoshop. This Photoshop Vintage Effects tutorial is one way - and good to have a play if you just fancy seeing what you can do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.