A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

The room upstairs

Yesterday Witchcreations mentioned that it sounded as if I 
lived in a gothic horror novel as a child. I was going to say that I 
didn't really but then remembered the Room Upstairs.

I grew up in a large and rather eccentric house that had been cobbled
together out of three other houses. It had four and a half floors. My 
room was on the 1 1/2 floor and above this was one more floor. The 
room above mine was very small and empty but I believe it had been
a bedroom at some point. Bizarrely, it was not until we moved out and 
I went to check that room was clear and closed the door while doing so,
that I realised that I was absolutely terrified of that room. The fears 
took the form of dreams which are still vivid to this day. Ghosts would 
descend through the ceiling and down towards me in my bed. The 
duvet did not apply since they came through that as well. In one 
dream I tried to hide in a cupboard outside The Room when I realised
The Things were about to come out but they opened the door and
found me. In real life I dared myself to run up the stairs in the dark 
to the door of that room then run back down again, my heart 
pounding like crazy.

Hard to describe actually as I think you had to be there but it was 
really quite horrifying at the time. Childhood wardrobe monsters 
on steroids. Its giving me the creeps just thinking about it now.

Sweet dreams!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.