One of five a day

By KiloRomeo

Victoria Bridge

Thank you for your opinions and comments on yesterday's blip. The young lady seems to be well recovered, but can't get enough sleep. :)) She was unable to stay up through the best part of "Last night of the Proms" on telly. I have to watch it every year. I find it impossible to not be uplifted by the energy of the crowds singing along to "Rule Britannia" and Elgar's Pomp and Circumstance March No. 1 in D major ('Land of Hope and Glory'). Ironically I descend from one the British colonies, and as much as I try to hunt some deep down genetic aversion to the spirit of the empire, there simply isn't any. And before you brand me an old school fossil, I should add that one of my guilty pleasures is "Heart FM" (loud).

So then... this is me exploring my love of bridges ...again.

Built in 1874, this swing bridge was the largest of its kind in Britain at the time. It was reopened after renovation in 2000. But once again, its central section has been closed for quite some time now, only the pedestiran walkway on this side is open for use.

I like its rugged, riveted construction. So I've tried to draw in the viewer for a view up close, without overpowering them with the steelwork (hopefully) Alternative view of bridge

Not sure what happened to Saurday but at least my paperwork is sorted. Must make the most of Sunday. Cheerio friends :))

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.