Look, See, Click

By lookseeclick

I hear those voices ....

'I hear those voices that will not be drowned: a line from Benjamin Britten's opera 'Peter Grimes', and an integral part of Maggi Hambling's extremely beautiful sculpture Scallop which is situated on the beach at Thorpe Ness, Aldeburgh.

Every time I visit this extremely striking piece of art I see something new in it. Today some children were using it as a slide - people are invited to clamber on to it, which is lovely.

Made of steel, I was struck today - when viewed from a particular angle - by how it reminded me of those steel girders poking upwards which seemed to become one of the definining images of the wreckage of the World Trade Center. This, though, is gentler and full of hope.

It was good for me to be by the sea today.

Where was I ten years ago today? at an international conference at Durham University, in a meeting where I was ensuring that all the paperwork was in order for a new company that was being formed, ready to be sent off to Companies House. At exactly 2.45 my (then) boss said: 'okay, seems like everything is in order. I'm off to prepare for the session I'm leading. See you all later'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.