Peninsula Light

By PeninsulaLight

The solicitor told me the date of separation, as given by my wife, and I gave a choked laugh. Not out of amusement, but disbelief. I didn't argue. There was no point. I was just relieved for it all to be ending.

The true date wasn't ever recorded by either of us. "Irreconcilable differences" over a length of time, were the cause, rather than any specific incident, or misdemeanour. But the date certainly wasn't the 11th of September 2001. It was at least two weeks before that.

Back home, and I didn't raise the subject. That would have been "rising to the bait," and another point scoring verbal assault would have ensued. Just recognising the taunt as being part of the melodramatic nature of the beast. And quite sad... no, worse - disrespectful, in an attempt to associate our personal issues with such a colossal tragedy to so many others.


Ten years on, and a day for reflection. I heard various radio programmes that moved me to tears over those events, along with consideration of all the death and destruction that has continued since.

There were no tears of self pity.


(My opinions, and not in any way intended as a rant.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.