The old monitor has been playing-up for ages, and the colours are slightly off. With the dire weather today (mainly rain), I chose the soft option, and drove in to work. Whilst having the car, I took some bits-n-pieces to the recycling centre.

At work I've repaired about 24 LCD monitors in the last 18 months - every one that I've been asked to look at. So whilst at said recycling centre, I had a look in the container for old TV's and monitors.

"Hmm, a 17" Dell monitor. There's loads of them at work, and they've been fairly trouble-free. Screen not cracked - good. No lead, but still worth a giving it a go. I hope all those girlie heart and star stickers come off!"

Spent a good hour just cleaning it up before checking for faults. It worked straight away. No problem. Can only assume that there was some other issue, or the previous owner had no need for it. Just in case, I 'll have a quick check on the internal electronics for the usual problematic parts... later.

So lucky me! Now need to dispose of the old behemoth....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.