Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Finally - the swing bridge is ready

I know this may not seem exciting. OK - it isn't. But my layout is a donut shape with me (the operator) standing in the middle with the trains all around me. So how to get in? Many people use what model railroaders call a "duck-under". Just what it sound like - you bend down or get on your knees and scoot under the layout. OK for once or twice - not fun after awhile. Even less fun at 6'2". So I built a section of the layout that swings out like a door. Easy in, close and lock the door. Good to go.

However, keeping the tracks aligned at the edges of the door can be a challenge. So I laid the track right over the opening between the door and the fixed portion of the layout. The track was glued down with adhesive caulk. But to make sure I ballasted (applied rock in between the rail ties) and glued it down as well. This makes a very strong bond between the track and base. Hopefully strong enough to prevent the rails from moving as I open and close the door.

Then the moment of truth. I was sweating like Richard Nixon at the Kennedy debate. I cut the rails with my motor tool at the joint between swing door and layout. Had to remember that the inner rails need to pass the stubs of the outer rails. One shot at this or I get to redo the whole deal.

Anyway - it went well and now I can finish the "mainline" of my little railroad and begin wiring. More track today I hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.