Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

More track laying

Got back to the railroad after a long business trip. Love the cash flow, love the clients, hate the travel. After 30 years it is not the least bit romantic. Think Trailways.

Finally permanently installed the bridge. A little nerve wracking as once in it is there. Also laid some track over the swing door. The hinges give it away, but I needed to get the tracks over the junction first as a single piece, then once the glue is dry I can return and slice the track so that the door can open. The idea is to open the gate, go in, lock the door, and run trains. So track alignment is critical. A little off and the locomotive goes into never-never land. A potentially very expensive exercise.

I use an acrylic caulk on top of the styrofoam to hold the track. You may note some T pins holding the track while the caulk dries. Once I weather the ties (nothing new on the RGS!) I plan on ballasting the sections by the gate so that once I cut the rails there will be no movement. At least that is the plan.

I am also building twi more turnouts and with these, I can get a circle of track done and start wiring that portion. Then I can at least run something

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.