Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Remembrance

Ten years on we remember with great clarity the event of 11th September 2001. It seemed quite fitting to use a local place where the fallen of the First World War are remembered almost 100 years ago, along with the symbolism of water passing under the bridge and lives moving on and, hopefully, recovering from the horror of that day. I feel tears welling as I watch the ceremony of remembrance tonight on TV.

I read a moving account of another blipper's life today, another story of loss and sadness. She compared her life then and now, I thought I might do the same, but I can't. My walk today took me round the churchyard where I saw the graves of villagers younger than myself who have died during these ten years. I can just feel thankful for what I have, the well-being of my own family and the anticipation of my first grandchild later this year.

How I came to think of this as a blip for today was through an interesting topic raised by gblrps on British Listed Buildings I found that there were so many places in my village without a photo to represent them on this website. It was raining but I went out with a mission to enter a few of my shots. This is the War Memorial Bridge, Grade II.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.