Where were you?

Our lives are shaped by our experiences and memories.

We remember world events as well as the personal moments that change our lives.
"Where were you when? ..." Is a question that is asked the world over.
I was not affected directly by the events of 9/11 but the memories are surprisingly vivid.

Where was I when I heard about 9/11?

I had played in a golf competition with a lady I didn?t know very well. There was a meal afterwards, we sat down to eat when her mobile phone rang, she went to switch it off and then sounding rather alarmed she excused herself and rushed out of the room.
She came back looking pale.
"That was my son." she said "I missed the call, but then got a text message saying 'don?t worry mum, I'm fine' I tried to call him back but couldn't get through"
She continued "My son flew out to New York this morning. Why would he send a message saying don't worry, unless there was something to worry about?"
She phoned him again and got through, he said there had been a plane crash.
She asked if the TV in the bar could be turned on, and it was then than the news of the twin towers started to unfold.

Ten years on, in some respects a lifetime, in some ways as if it were only yesterday. We have formed opinions, passed views, taken sides, and may even have taken action.
Has the world changed for the better since 9/11? I?m sure you have your own views.

To all those who lost family or friends, my thoughts are with you today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.