Like fingerprints

By FrederiqueE12

Montreal Grand Prix Cycliste

Today was the Montreal leg of the Grand Prix Cycliste with some of the best racers in the world cycling 205 km around the Mont-Royal. The race is in my backyard so to speak and for the second year I have tried to go encourage them, though being sick I could not stay more than 3 turns (there are 18 minutes between each pass). I managed to find a spot on the curb behind a ciment flower pot. I sat down to take a photograph close to the ground. It was really exciting but I only found out after the fact that I was a bit too close for comfort. I was inches away from some cyclists it looks like on some of the shots. If there had been a collision, it would have been bad for me too. The security people never said anything to me. Strangely, I did not realise it as I was photographing but it sank in afterword. I guess it makes me understand the adrenaline of the photojournalists who will go to great length to get pictures though in much more dangerous situations.

I did also just clap at them as they passed later, it is so exciting. They are amazing athletes. Rui Faria Da Costa of Portugal won the race. And yes, I do have a picture of him when he was in the middle of the pack. But I prefered this one. http://www.montrealgazette.com/sports/Costa+wins+Grand+Prix+Cycliste+Montreal/5385602/story.html

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.