PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Precision Porridge

I used to prepare porridge by volume, an oats/water/milk ratio of 1:1:1.5 and then about 2 mins in the microwave. It worked for me, even if some days it was sturdier; other days sloppier.Then along came my mathematically-minded husband and a set of accurate electronic scales. We now enjoy porridge of consistent quality and texture: it's 30g oats, 115g milk, 75g water: 1.5 mins on 1000-watt MicroHigh; remove and stir; return to oven for a further 30-second nuke: and there you have it: Precision Porridge.

However, it's a nerve-wracking process, as ambient room temperature seems to come into play and add modest variation. For those last few seconds, my heart's in my mouth, as the porridge rises proud of the sides of the bowl. Will it overflow? 99% of the time it doesn't but, as you see, I do sometimes keep a close watch, ready to press 'stop'.

Click here for How to cool your porridge without wasting breath!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.