Wheatear with Cows

I don't think I've ever posted such a drastically disparate composite, but I wanted to at least suggest the variety of today's experience.

We started at the Plage de Maye near Cortroy on the Baie de Somme where we had spied Northern Wheatears (Oenanthe oenanthe). We returned this morning (me carrying the proper lens this time), with some success--not as close as I would like (it's a small thrush-like bird), but I'm happy with this image (it's pretty much non-breeding plumage, thus less bright than what you may find elsewhere on the web).

We then went on south to Gerbrevoy, a tiny fortress village with a stunning set of wonderful traditional houses. We had a wonderful lunch of pintade (guinea hen) before heading further in the departement of the Oise to our B&B for the night at St. Germer de Fly (it's owned by a painter and his wife, and his lovely paintings surround us).

Throughout the day we passed one stunningly green vista after another--with both tan and black-and white cows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.