The Daily Bun

By pennybun

Wild Food

... by Roger Phillips - a wonderful book
These are just 2 of the recipes I've cooked over the last week or 2. Yesterday we had a cep and potato bake with our Sunday tea, and today I've been drying mushrooms ready to make my secret recipe Spiced Mushroom Seasoning, and making Sloe and Crabapple jelly, a sparking ruby red concoction that would grace any pantry shelf. There is something very satisfying about gathering wild ingredients. and this is the best time of year to do it.

I had intended to go out again today. The light has been very good, but the howling winds put me off. A trip to RSPB Old Moor tomorrow is on the cards, so hope the wind has blown in some good birds, but will drop a little for our visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.