LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

River Braan, The Hermitage, Dunkeld

Off today, but what a dreich day for a holiday. As I type this, it's blowing a gale outside, the after effects from Hurricane Katia apparently. Normally I wouldn't mind - I quite like sitting in the house listening to the wind blowing - but I am due to get on a plane in 10 hours. Not overly excited at the prospect.

Despite the wind, rain and fog, I jumped in the car and headed up the A9 to The Hermitage. When I got there, the weather had calmed down a bit and the trees in Craigvinean Forest shelter you well from the wind and the rain.

Took a walk up to Ossian's Hall which was refurbished by my great grandfather (who I never met) when he was the architect on the Atholl Estates.

Outside the Hall is a balcony that looks down on to the water falls which were absolutely immense today, the noise, the relentless crashing of the waves, it was brilliant to watch and listen to. The photos I took of them though didn't really do them justice. Didn't help that the spray was so strong, it kept soaking the camera!

Today's blip has actually been chosen by my Uncle (my mum's brother) who has popped round to visit us tonight. He followed in his grandfather's footsteps and became an architect. It's a great walk and I could spent hours here, but some of the trails are closed due to landslides. It was quite slippy today, so wasn't as adventurous with my shots as I normally am when I visit.

Wish me luck for that plane tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.