Being in Becoming

By MsRachel

Nostalgia. Perfection.

There's something kind of awesome about this swing in the middle of Maasailand. Between the wide open spaces and the view from where you're sitting (the backdrop nowhere near as gorgeous as the view of the sunset over the Rift Valley), it's an amazing place to be. One I don't get to often enough.

I wish photos could actually capture the entire moment. The sun on your face, how you felt, the feeling you get when your heart's about to explode from happiness. A few minutes before this shot was taken, I was on this swing, with my 1 1/2 year-old niece on my lap, with my dad pushing us. It was such a throwback to my own childhood, when there was a swing at the house I grew up in, and my dad would come out and push me before (and even after) my legs were able to reach the ground. To be there again, him and his daughter and granddaughter, on a swing laughing and calling to go higher...

For fleeting moments, the world is perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.