Being in Becoming

By MsRachel

The Saddest Fridge

What an abandoned blip. Life and far too much navel gazing got in the way of doing something that's important. Thanks, Kui, for pushing me to start again.

I got home yesterday from a long working weekend away to discover the saddest fridge in the world. Attempting to figure out what I can do with mayonnaise, cranberry sauce and one egg. No snacks in sight. To be fair, there's pasta and flour and all the necessary dry goods in the pantry- I could theoretically bake something that required one egg...but that is one sad fridge.

I find that I buy the bulk of my groceries to feed other people, as I hate to cook for one and I almost never drink alone, so a full fridge (which is the norm) is a sign of dinner parties and friends randomly dropping by and late night drinks and much pontification. My empty fridge (and odd lack of booze) therefore says that I am neither having guests nor expecting any, and this is a condition that has persisted over a period of time. That is unusual, and that is sad.

It's been a difficult few months. It was a difficult weekend. But looking at my fridge reminds me of all that I'm missing as I lock myself away. I think our souls were built to reject emptiness. That's the only way progress occurs, right?

Invites sent out for a dinner party this weekend. Looking forward to restocking the fridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.