Bristolwood and Beyond

By bristolwood

Curiosity calls...

A few years ago, we found out that disabled citizens of New York State can get a key to ride an all terrain vehicle on certain public paths. The trails are designated by the state. The disabled person is allowed one person to accompany.

When Husband discovered this amazing fact, he decided to apply for a permit and key right away. We were pretty excited. Well, when the key came, we hurried off right away to try out a trail in our Explorer. (One can use any motorized vehicle.)

The trail we chose to try out is only a few miles from our home...how cool is that? Ack! NOT!

We began our little "run" down the trail. I am pretty sure it is an old abandoned railroad bed. Thus, it runs through some mighty unsavory territory! As we drove along (first, impressed) it became apparent that the state issues passes to try to "decrease the surplus population"!

We ran into little bugs we had never seen before and as the journey progressed, it seems the size (and perhaps quantity) of the "buglike creatures" grew to unbelievable size and stature! As the huge bugs attacked the windshield, we laughed, nervously, inside the safety of our vehicle! As we crossed over a narrow (did I mention NARROW??) bridge, we basically feared for our very lives!

That was a ride we will never forget. Never. We would be hard-pressed to even imagine such creatures exist, particularly so nearby our home!

Curiosity got the better of me, so I wandered down to said trail this afternoon. Was the path any better? Would it be so "buggy" on a warm September afternoon? Well, no. And, yes. The trail remains the same. It looks for all intents and purposes, as though no one ever ventures that way.

My Blip just further substantiates my proposition that this path is very "disturbing"! Even a harmless cattail appears rather "unique" along this trail! And, for the record, the bugs were chasing me and my camera as I stopped to take my Blip! I think I learned some new self-preservation moves with a three pound lens bouncing on my chest!

Nasty critters, those!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.