Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

Rook takes a look

Although our day in Dornoch included sightings of an otter and and a great crested grebe in the sea, and a flock of 150 lesser redpolls (little brown seed eating finches with a brilliant red splash on their forehead), none of these were easily photographed with my HTC Desire HD phone camera (I think I'm committed to using this for my blipfoto entries). So today's blip is this cropped photo of one of the lovely rooks hanging about the campsite. We were feeding them and the jackdaws on fried butter beans and this rook was the boldest, hanging about for a while after we stopped feeding them. I love the crow family for their versatility and, among birds, their relative intelligence - I think I read that crows have been shown to be able to count up to three - and their problem-solving abilities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.