snapped by a curious mind

By iphigenie

Creative tubes

In the spirit of my "3 Rs" for this year (see this old blip) I revived the photography, the walking, some of the writing, starting to refresh some of the technology skills. One thing I wanted to do was to start painting and drawing again.

Now I have oil paint, pastels, all sorts of charcoals and pencils, and watercolors. Of course it makes sense when I have all these that I would go out and buy acrylic and gouache! A girls's got to shop (I was smart, I hit ebay)!

6 weeks later and you can see the tubes havent had much use. I used the afternoon light to give it some drama. it makes the box disappear so the tubes look like they are floating. But it doesnt change the fact that these are clean unused tubes... I am well aware that a picture of a colorful palette with blobs of paint and brush strokes would be far more photogenic. Alas I have not gotten to that stage yet.

It takes a long amount of free time to paint. Like writing, you need to plan a few hours and then stick to it, not do something else like cleaning. There's always something else to do more urgent (of course leaving a job made a lot of high priority tasks), or something that is both easier and faster.

I should have called this blip "Stick with it"

Also I guess I lack a clear driving purpose that means I want to paint so badly because I have something precise I want to do. "Play with colors and shapes" is just not quite enough...

I should have titled this blip "make up my mind!"

How I will do this now when I have to go see my mum and also try to negociate out of this lease here before September (would save me money, not sure how the landlords will react though)... I have no idea. Although somehow I will get to it.

Creative tubes, creative juices... Make up my mind and stick with it.

After all I plan to make 2008 a good year. Expect a messy creative paint blip in a month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.