Down by the Sea

I feel like I've been everywhere today.

My day started at 7.30am as I headed to the estuary and beach. As I drove the sun was bright and had been up for over an hour, it was shining on the mountains behind me against the blue sky. They looked magnificent after a southerly came through last night, leaving another layer of fresh snow.

Down at the estuary the tide was in and on the turn, the water was like a mirror so calm with crisp clear reflections of the trees and hills while out to the east the waves were rolling in. A little sea mist clung to the hills but all was quiet out at sea and along the beach. I could see the Port Hills which also had a dusting of snow.

I came back home and picked Mum and my Stepdad up and we headed inland to Oxford, I knew they would like to see the snow. We had a cuppa and a wander, headed up to the lookout and viewed the Canterbury Plains then down to the river.

After dropping R home Mum and I headed to another beach and wetland area, nice and sandy with great walking tracks. We had a quiet amble then returned home. It was quite refreshing to be out in the coolish breeze, smelling the sea air and just enjoying the day.

I've not long been home on this lovely Spring day, no jobs have been done and I haven't even given tea a thought, it won't take long to rattle something up.

Last nights night shot turned out not too bad, many thanks for your encouraging words. Not sure when I'll take another as our daylight saving hours will be kicking in soon and then it'll be longer days, lots of sun and plenty of BBQ's - sounds great to me :)

Wednesday is almost done and dusted - hope it was, or will be, a good one for you - I'll be back soon for comments.

Oh, I forgot to say, our internet is at snails pace as they're laying new broadband cables in our town, it could take some time - I'll try my hardest to get round everyone with comments on a daily basis, please just bare with me - Thanks :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.