Twenty-something

By CJLucas

Wheat-free comfort food

Today's blip is my dinner. A bit random but I'm feeling pleased with myself. It's a tuna-pasta bake, with sweet corn, broccoli and most importantly without wheat. Over the past few months I've been feeling unwell and concluded the source of this was wheat, a suspicion shared by my doctor today. So I'm to continue my self-imposed wheat-free diet for the next six weeks (I suspect I've an intolerance rather than an allergy) and after that, if I feel like it, I'm to reintroduce wheat into my diet and see how it goes from there...

It turns out all the fun food in life contains wheat - there's the obvious, bread, pasta, cakes but then also biscuits, crackers, soy sauce, even veggie sausages which is a bit of a bugger as I'm a pescetarian. (I'm one of those apparent hypocrites who eats fish and not meat, I say apparent because I'm not, it's not animal rights reasons that I don't eat meat, although I don't necessarily relish a good slaughter).

Anyway, back to the point, I'm pleased with myself because this week I received some sad news and like all logical people wanted to cheer myself up with the two best ingredients for comfort food possible - cheese and carbs. I'm sick of rice and oats so armed with gluten-free pasta and corn flour I've made a comforting tea that won't make me unwell!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.