42+ 68.5

Today I gave myself a wee birthday present of a day out on the bike. So after having a lovely start to the day with the family I dropped the girls off at school and child minder and set off.

I must have been the happiest person ever to see Carnwath after taking 2hrs to ride the 24miles into the wind. The next 21miles to Peebles was covered in just over 1hr 15mins, thanks to assistence from the wind.The ride into Peebles is through one of my favorite borders roads and I always think this church in the Lyne Valley is in such stunning setting.

Had a wee break in Peebles and headed to a proper bakers (Not Greggs) for some non-healthy Scottish grub and then along the main street for a fine wee espresso.

I was thinking the journey back home would be wind assisted but no, the cross wind was as effective as a face wind.

For the Statisically interested here is my route

It was a great ride and think I have found my rhythm on the bike, so things are feeling much easier. It was good to pass the 20mile point in my first ride in this was getting fit project.

All was done in a riding time of 4hr 34mins, so just over 15mph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.