Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

The same but different...

Day 12. Stage 11: Vizzavona -> E-Campannelle

We both feel stiffer than we'd hoped after our day off yesterday, and my feet appear to have grown half a size over night...

With no tent to pack up, we left the hostel before dawn, and began to climb once more for around 8km to gain 600m. However, with a little extra energy than normal (mainly condensed milk fuelled), we set a good pace and by the time we reached the days high point, we were 30 minutes ahead of schedule. This was also where we met Bill.

Bill is an American who proudly lives 'off-the-grid'.

I quote:

Yeeeah, I live just about in the arse end of nowhere. You wouldn't want to go there even if you knew where it was. And that's the way I like it.... Just me, my cabin an 40 acres. If i want light, i light a candle. If i want water, i go to my well. If i want a p**s, I go in the yard.

Bill was brilliant - he had an opinion on EVERYTHING, but they were all balanced, thoughtful and well reasoned.... With Bill along for the ride, the remaining 8km flew by!

I did manage to tear my self away from a heated debate on why the Americans haven't got an NHS to take this photo - looking East over the mountains, the sea reflected the sun, highlighting the clouds along the coast WAAAAY below us!

Chatting and walking, we arrived at the end of our planned stage at 10am! If you've read the rest of these blips, you'll not be surprised that we seriously considered doubling up on another stage... BUT

The GR20 south was starting to have an effect on me and Ben - the climbs were long but not as high, and the terrain was more rolling hills rather than cliff faces. We started to believe that we might actually be on a holiday!

So we stopped, tried to pitch our tents on absolute rock hard... rock, quietly hoped for a calm night, and went off for another debate with Bill!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.