Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Welcome Home - Now Feed Me!!

I am back in NJ now, having taking the dreaded red-eye home last night. I arrived at our house this morning about 8 am and once both cats had determined that I wasn't a burglar, out they came, demanding attention. And, if you have ever been owned by a cat, you'll know that they can be completely relentless in their own feline way. Phoebe is the vocal one, so she chatted me up while Rocket did lots of sniffing to be sure I was really me. Then, we all curled up for a nap - bliss! I can never get any kind of sleep on the planes.

My dad is doing very well, taking lots of walks and eating a healthy diet, while mom hovers to make sure he is okay. I debated staying longer, but know that they need to get back to their own rhythms and routines without me underfoot. I reserve the right to worry, though!

It looks like the 3 adult male hummingbirds have headed south. From what I read, the males migrate a couple of weeks ahead of the females; and the juveniles are the last to leave. It is very cool and blustery today but I still saw 5 or 6 hummies swooping and flitting around the feeders, all looking plump and healthy. I worry how they will make the long migration to the Keys and/or Central America. I hope to get a few parting shots tomorrow - it was just too chilly and windy this afternoon when I took my camera out, so settled for this photo of our little Phoebe instead.

I am off to have a little dinner, glass of wine, and SLEEP!!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.